By Diana Black

Welcome, New Members

Larry Story joined the co-op during our May 2lst meeting. Not only did Larry brave his first meeting by joining the co-op and becoming our 303rd member, he also had one of his tunes critiqued.

Larry has offered to help the L.A.S.C. with fund raising. His marketing experience selling guitars and keyboards for Central Music Company will most certainly be an asset for the co-op.

We sure look forward to seeing you at a future meeting, Larry. Be sure to bring along another song for us to hear.

Joe Riffle joined the co-op June 4th, becoming our 304th member. (Yeah, that's Lynn's husband.) Joe's membership is in our Supporter category, a very important element in the success of L.A.S.C. Joe is now one of several members who are not themselves writers but believe in our organization and in songwriters. Thank you, Joe, for having faith in us.

As new members, you may have questions concerning the organization or the music industry in general; please feel free to call me at (502) 893-0693 and l will be happy to help in any way I can.

Anyone interesting in joining the L.A.S.C. or just wanting more information about the organization is welcome to call me at the above number and I will be glad to answer any questions and/or forward a membership application.

PLEASE NOTE: Again, I would like to encourage new members to include with their completed application an attached page with information about themselves. Our welcome column is the perfect place to "let yourself be known."

New Members' Meeting Scheduled

Circle Monday, July 30th, on your calendars. We are planning .an informal get-together at 7:30 p.m. at the Rudyard Kipling for all new members.

Several board members and committee chairpersons will be on hand to welcome you to the co-op and answer any questions you might have about the organization, the music business, copyrights, etc. Of course, any member of L.A.S.C. is welcome and encouraged to attend this meeting.

If you have any questions please feel free to call me at (502) 893-0693.

P.S. Wondering whether you qualify as a new member?

Hey, who cares! Come on down!!


Let's not forget to thank those members who "signed on for another year": Mark Bates, Bob Bush, Bill Ede. Tim Haertel, Velma Klein, Mike Layman, Karen Le Van, Wanda Martin, Marian Maxwell, Lynn Ritfle, Rebecca Clinard Sleadd. Robert Snider, Joe Snyder, Bev Sumner, Debra Tuggle, Lucille and Harry Wills.