Songwriting Contest On Track

The Coop's Songwriting Competition '90 is in good shape and on schedule. A couple of more judges have been confirmed. There has been much talk about the prizes and we are expecting many entries. Better get your entries ready.

Just a reminder: the contest is open during August and entries must be received by August 31, 1990.

The winner in each category will be eligible to compete for the Grand Prize. That means that the Grand Prize winner will pick by $1,050 total.

Please read the rules carefully. You may xerox the entry form for multiple entries. Multiple entries may be paid for by a single check or money order and should be included in one package.

Good luck.


There are ten categories, up from seven in last year's contest. The best song in each category. as determined by independent judges involved in various aspects of the music business. will be eligible for the final three prizes.

The categories in this years contest are: Rock, Blues, Country, Pop/MOR, Children's, Jazz, Folk, Bluegrass, Gospel/Contemporary Christian/Inspirational and Other. The entrant must decide into which category a song falls.

Songs may be entered in more than one category. Each entry must have a separate tape and entry form. Payment may be by a single check or money order for all entries, per package

Entry Fees

Entry fees in the contest this year are somewhat different from last year's. There are, as usual, two classes of entry fees, one for members of the L.A.S.C. and one for nonmembers.

Member fees are: $8 per member for one (1) song, $20 for three (3) songs.

Non-member fees are: $10 per nonmember for one (1) song, $25 for three (3) songs.

Contest Dates

Entries in the contest will be accepted between August l and August 31, 1990. Entries received after August 31, 1990 are not eligible, regardless of postmark.

The members of the Board will not be eligible. Members of the Board will judge the first cut, picking ten finalists per category. If there are not enough entrants, there will be fewer finalists. The Board also retains the right to select more than ten finalists per category at its discretion.

Who is Eligible

Any amateur songwriter is eligible to enter. An amateur songwriter is anyone who has earned less than $1,000 per year in royalties for songwriting during the last five years.

Members of the Board of Directors of the L.A.S.C. and members of their families are not eligible.


As of press date, the following people have agreed to be judges for the second round of judging:


Judges Gary Deusner - Agent, Triangle Talent.

Mark Smalley - Owner, Uncle Pleasant's.

A radio personality to be named.


Scott Mullins - Host of Saturday Night Blues Hour, WFPL FM 89.

Rocky Adcock - President, KYANA Blues Society; Business Manager, Louisville Federation of Musicians, Local ll-637.

Kevin Hines - Board Member, KYANA Blues Society.


Karl Shannon - Radio personality, K93, Lexington, Ky.

Ange Humphrey Davidson - TV personality, recording artist.

A radio personality to be named.


Terry Meiners - WHAS radio

George Lindsay - Program Director, WLSY

Guy Rhodes - Guy Rhodes Agency


Bob Rosenthal - Longtime Louisville performer.

Randy Atcher - Host of T-Bar-V Ranch television program.

Becky Gaskell - Teacher; writer of children's songs.


Gus Coin - President, Louisville Jazz Society.

Jamey Aebersold - Louisville-area jazz educator.

Phil Bailey - Host of Jazz Today program, WFPL-FM.


Tucker Thomas - Board member, Louisville Homefront Performances, Kentucky Music Weekend.

Nancy Johnson Barker — Director, Kentucky Music Weekend / Kentucky Music Week.

Additional judge to be named.


Berk Bryant - Host, Sunday Bluegrass, WFPL FM 89.

Steve Cooley - Banjo player for New Horizon, the Dillards.

Gary Brewer - Performer with Gary Brewer and the Kentucky Ramblers.

Gospel/Contemporary Christian/Inspirational

Dr. Phillip Landgrave - Professor of Church Music and Composition, Southern Baptist Seminary.

Denise Jenkins - Louisville Presbyterian Seminary.

Steve Butler - General Manager, WJlE Radio.


Susan Watkins - Lonesome Pine Specials.

Jeffrey Lee Puckett - Pop Music writer, Louisville Courier-Journal.

Kris Bradley - WLSY Radio.

Announcement of Winners

Category finalists will be notified by September 30, 1990. Winners in each category and the winners of the Grand Prize, Second and Third Place will be announced at the Awards Banquet on Saturday. November 3, 1990. The Banquet will be held in conjunction with the Songwriting Seminar and Trade Show at the Holiday Inn, 2nd and Broadway, Louisville, Ky.