L.A.S.C. Announces Songwriting Competition '90

The Board of Directors of the L.A.S.C. is pleased to announce Songwriting Competition '90, the third annual songwriting contest held by the Co-op.

This year's contest has several new features, including a larger grand prize and additional categories. Here are the details:


Grand Prize


Second Place


Third Place


Category Winner


The winner in each category will be eligible to compete for the Grand Prize.


There will be ten categories, up from seven in last year's contest. The best song in each category, as determined by independent judges involved in various aspects of the music business, will be eligible for the final three prizes.

The categories in this year's contest are: Rock, Blues, Country, Pop/MOR, Children's, Jazz, Folk, Bluegrass, Gospel/Contemporary Christian/Inspirational and Other. The entrant must decide into which category a song falls. Songs may be entered in more than one category. Each entry must have a separate tape and entry form. Payment may be by a single check or money order for all entries, per package.

Entry Fees

Entry fees in the contest this year are somewhat different from last year's. There are, as usual, two classes of entry fees, one for members of the L.A.S.C. and one for non-members.

• Member fees are: $8 per member for one (1) song, $20 for three (3) songs.

• Non-member fees are: $10 per non-member for one (1) song, $25 for three (3) songs.

Contest Dates

Entries in the contest will be accepted between August 1 and August 31, 1990. Entries received after August 31, 1990 are not eligible, regardless of postmark.

The members of the Board are not eligible. Members of the Board will judge the first cut, picking ten finalists per category. If there are not enough entrants, there will be fewer finalists. The Board also retains the right to select more than ten finalists per category at its discretion.

Who is Eligible

Any amateur songwriter is eligible to enter. An amateur songwriter is anyone who has earned less than $1,000 per year in royalties for songwriting during the last five years.

Members of the Board of Directors of the L.A.S.C. and members of their families are not eligible.


As of press date, the following people have agreed to be judges for the second round of judging:


Gary Deusner, Triangle Talent

Mark Smalley, owner, Uncle Pleasant's

WLRS Rock 102 on-air personality, to be named


Rocky Adcock, President, KYANA Blues Society

Scott Mullins, host, Saturday Night Blues Hour, WFPL-FM 89

Kevin Heinz, Board member, KYANA Blues Society


Karl Shannon, K-93 radio, Lexington

Two more judges to be named


Terry Meiners, WHAS radio

George Lindsay, Program Director, WLSY

Guy Rhodes, Guy Rhodes Agency


Bob Rosenthal, longtime Louisville performer

Randy Atcher, host of T-Bar V Ranch television program

Becky Gaskell, teacher, writer of children's songs


Gus Coin, President, Louisville Jazz Society

Phil Bailey, host of Jazz Today program, WFPL FM 89

One additional judge to be named later


Bob Rosenthal, Louisville folk performer

Two additional judges to be named later


Steve Cooley, banjo player for New Horizon, longtime player with the Dillards

Berk S. Bryant, host of Sunday Bluegrass on WFPL FM 89

Gary Brewer, of Gary Brewer and the Kentucky Ramblers

Gospel/Contemporary Christian/Inspirational

Dr. Philip Landgrave, Professor of Church Music and Composition, Southern Baptist Seminary

Denise Jenkins, Louisville Presbyterian Seminary

Steve Butler, General Manager, WJIE radio


Susan Watkins, Lonesome Pine Specials

Jeffrey Lee Puckett, Pop Music writer, Louisville Courier-Journal

Kris Bradley, WLSY radio

Announcement of Winners

Category finalists will be notified by September 30, 1990. Winners in each category and the winners of the Grand Prize, Second and Third Place will be announced at the Awards Banquet on Saturday, November 3, 1990. The Banquet will be held in conjunction with the Songwriting Seminar and Trade Show at the Holiday Inn, 2nd and Broadway, Louisville. Ky.