Songwriting Competition '91

The LASC Songwriting Competition '91 will once again feature a Grand Prize of $1,000. This year, the Category prizes have increased to $100 per category. Below are more details, including the list of judges.


Prizes will be awarded at the Awards Banquet on November 9, 1991. There are two levels of prizes:

Category Winners

In each category, one winner will be selected. The winner in each category will receive a $100 prize. In addition, the ten category-winning songs will be eligible to compete for the final prizes.

$1000 Grand Prize

One song from among the ten category finalists will receive a $1000 Grand Prize.


Category finalists will be notified by September 30, 1991. Winners in each category and the winner of the Grand Prize will be announced at the Awards Banquet on Saturday, November 9, 1991. The Banquet will be held in conjunction with the Songwriting Seminar at the I-65 South Holiday Inn, 3317 Fern Valley Rd, Louisville, Ky, 40213.


Judging will be handled in the following ways: preliminary judging will be by non-participating board members of the LASC, resulting in ten finalists in each category. These ten finalists will be given to a three-person panel of judges knowledgeable in the given category to select the winning two songs. Judges will rank by score sheet.

Here is the list of judges as of June, 1991:

The Grand Prize judges will be representatives from each of the three performing rights organizations. To date, this includes Tom Casey, SESAC, and John Briggs at ASCAP. The BMI representative has not yet been named.

Category Judges


Pee Wee King, Country Music Hall of Fame.

Joel Ray Sprowels, Lincoln Jamboree.

E. J. Clarke, WTMT Radio


Gary Duesner, Triangle Talent.

Vince Emmett, guitarist/songwriter.

Duke Meyer, WQMF.


Gus Coin, Louisville Jazz Society.

Jamey Aebersold, jazz educator.

Phil Bailey, host of "Jazz Today" program, WFPL.


Rocky Adcock, Kyana Blues Society/Louisville Musicians' Union.

Perry Aberli, Kyana Blues Society.

Keith Clements, Kyana Blues Society.


Tucker Thomas, Louisville Homefront Performances.

Nancy Barker, Kentucky Music Weekend

Joe Wise, Award-winning Songwriter.


Berk Bryant, host of "Sunday Bluegrass," WFPL.

Gary Brewer of Gary Brewer and the Kentucky Ramblers.

Mike Schroeder of New Horizon.


Bob Rosenthal, Louisville performer.

Karen Dean, Louisville performer and songwriter.

Geraldine Snyder, Blue Apple Players.


Bobby Lanz, Louisville performer.

Guy Rhodes, Guy Rhodes talent agency.

Gary Falk, musician and owner of Falk Recording Service.


Dr. Phillip Landgrave, Southern Baptist Theological Seminary.

Steve Butler, WJIE radio.

Mark Goodman, Award-winning engineer, Alpha Recording Service.


The contest is open to receive entries effective August 1, 1991. All entries must be received, not just postmarked, by August 31, 1991.