Sixth Annual Songwriting Competition Update

The judges for Songwriting Competition '92 have been selected, with only a couple of exceptions. Here is the list, by category

Grand Prize

Clay Bradley, BMI, Nashville.

John Briggs, ASCAP, Nashville.

Tom Casey, SESAC, Nashville.


Gary Brewer, bluegrass performer with Gary Brewer and Kentucky Ramblers.

Berk Bryant, bluegrass columnist for Louisville Music News, host of "Sunday Bluegrass" on WFPL FM.

Mike Schroeder, director ot Louisville Mandolin Orchestra, performer with New Horizon band.


Rocky Adcock, KYANA Blues Society.

Ken Clay, Director of Cultural Diversity, Kentucky Center tor the Arts.

Keith Clements, music writer for Louisville Music News; Kyana Blues Society.


Karen Dean, performer and writer otchildren's music.

Geraldine Ann Snyder, director of Blue Apple Players.

Bob Rosenthal, folk musician.

Contemporary Christian/ Gospel/Inspirational

Steve Millikan, producer for Ray Boltz & other Christian performers.

Jim Gallipeau, music writer for Louisville Music News, disc jockey, WJIE FM.

One additional judge to be named.


Pee Wee King, member of the Country Music Hall of Fame.

Joel Ray Sprowls, owner of the Lincoln Jamboree.

Mike Wilson, vice-president & general manager K-Country (WGRK FM), Campbellsville.


Nancy Barker, Director, Kentucky Music Weekend.

Tucker Thomas, Kentucky Music Weekend, Louisville Homefront Performances.

Joe Wise, songwriter/performer.


Jeff Sherman, Director, Jazz Guitar Clinic, Bellarmine College.

Mike Tracy, jazz department, University at Louisville.

One additional judge to be named.


Rob Brown, keyboards manager, Far Out Music.

Joe Brown, engineer, owner ot Radio Joe's. Teaches recording studio techniques at Indiana University Southeast.

Jlll Meyer, disc jockey, WDJX FM.


Joey Berry, Music Director, WLOC FM, Munfordville.

Mark Smalley, owner, Uncle Pleasant's.

Susan Watkins, co-producer of Lonesome Pine Specials.


Bob Bahr, music writer, Courier-Journal, Louisville Music News.

Jay St. Clair, disc jockey, WQMF FM.

Dale and Troy Thompson, lead singer and guitarist tor Bride.


Judging will be handled in the following ways: preliminary judging will be by nonparticipating board members of the LASC, resulting in ten finalists in each category.

These ten finalists will be given to a three-person panel of judges knowledgeable in the given category to select the winning song. Judges will rank by scoresheet.


The contest is open to receive entries effective August 1, 1992. All entries must be received, not just postmarked, by August 31, 1992.


Entry fee is $8 per song for LASC members; $10 for non-members. Three songs may be entered for $20 for LASC members; $25 for non-members. Each entry must be accompanied by a check or money order made payable to LASC.

Multiple entries may be paid tor by one check.

More "lnsider" Commentary

By Paul Moffett

Here are some more tips about the contest.

1. A capella demos won't really cut it, unless a really incredible singer is doing the demo and the song is wonderful.

Unfortunately, our experience has been that vocals-only demos come across as songs that aren't very good. of course, I could be wrong.

2. Don't overproduce the demo. Long intros and lengthy breaks are frequently a sign of an inexperienced songwriter.

More next month.