Much Ado About Nothing

Eminem Presents The Re-Up (Shady Records)
Various Artists

By Kory Wilcoxson

Don't call it a comeback! It's been two years since Eminem's last solo album and hungry Slim Shady fans will no doubt snatch up this mix-tape complication CD. Re-Up is a chance for Eminem to showcase some of the talent in his stable of rappers, mixing the vets (50 Cent, Obie Trice) with newcomers (Bobby Creekwater, Cashis).

The danger with any compilation album is the unevenness of the offerings and this one is no different. Eminem himself contributes on seven tracks, including two strong solos ("Public Enemy #1" and "No Apologies"), which unintentionally highlights how other members of the Shady posse struggle to keep pace. Obie Trice, Stat Quo and the two newbies don't do anything to stand out on this 22-track CD, despise given plenty of airtime. Only 50 Cent has the nutsack to hang with Eminem and their duo "Jimmy Crack Corn" is a standout in the midst of mediocrity.

It's almost a certainty that we'll be hearing from all these rappers again on the new Shady Records label. This coming-out party may have done more harm than good, as it simply reminded rap fans who really rules the roost. The rest of Eminem's gang on Re-Up feel like sloppy seconds.