Paul Moffett

Down On The Corner
By Paul Moffett

July is certainly ramping up to be a major month for live music, with shows by out-of-town acts happening nearly every day and major events every weekend. We can only hope you can walk to the shows.

FREE TICKETS - Caesar's, soon to be the Horseshoe Southern Indiana Casino, has quite a lineup of shows coming up this summer:

Merle Haggard and Loretta Lynn - Friday, June 27

The Beach Boys - Saturday, July 5

Reba McEntire - Friday, July 11

Barenaked Ladies - Saturday, July 12

Gretchen Wilson - Saturday, July 19

The Black Crowes - Saturday, July 26

Boston and Styx - Sunday, July 27

Bonnie Raitt - Friday, August 15

Stone Temple Pilots - Saturday, August 16

George Thorogood and Buddy Guy - Friday, August 22

Bob Dylan - Saturday, August 23

The good news is the Caesar's has fixed us up with some free tickets. Eddy Metal has some for shows (Check his column on page 14) and I have several to give away to Barenaked Ladies and Gretchen Wilson.

Here's the deal - I have a MySpace page at www.myspace/lmnguy. The first five people to send me an email message through the MySpace page AFTER 6 p.m. EDT on July 4 FOR ONE OR THE OTHER SHOW will win two tickets. Got that? There are five pairs of tickets for each show. You must indicate in your message which show you want - not both or either.

You have to sign up with MySpace to send a message but that's free. It would be a good idea to do that early. If you win, you'll be notified by email. If you don't make a habit of checking your MySpace page, leave a different email in your message.

I will post the winners' names on my blog at www.louisvillemusicnews.net sometime after July 4 - that might happen immediately or it might take some time. Click on "The Editor's Blog."

CODAS

ROSENBERG, SAMUEL ROBINSON, 94, of Louisville, died June 10, 2008. In additional to the Louisville Orchestra, he played with several bands, including Holy Name Band, River City Band, Kosair Shrine Band, Mellotones and the Southeast Christian Church Orchestra.